Okagbare retains Mobil 100m title, Metu takes men's crown

Submitted by Motunde Smith … on 26 June 2010 - 4:51am

Olympic Long Jump bronze medalist and 2010 NCAA 100m champion, Blessing Okagbare yesterday maintained her top rating by defending her title at the on-going 21st Nigeria/NNPC/Mobil Track and Field Championships in Calabar, Nigeria.

She won the women's 100 metres race with a time of 11.06 seconds at the U.J. Esuene Stadium, leaving Damola Osayomi of the International Civil Defence Organisations (ICDO) to finish second.

Osayomi returned a time of 11.23, with Agnes Osazuwa of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corp (NSCDC) in third place with a time of 11.45 seconds.

Lauretta Ozoh of Delta was fourth with 11.60, a hundredth of a second ahead of Sola Ogundemi of the Civil Defence Academy (CDA) who was fifth in 11.61.

Halimat Ismaila of Delta was sixth with 11.72 seconds while Gloria Bassey of ICDO and Chinazom Amadi of Nigerian Prisons were seventh and eighth with 11.78 seconds and 11.92 seconds respectively.

In the men's race, Obinna Metu of the Nigerian Prisons won with a time of 10.25 seconds while Delta state's Egwero Ogho-Oghene came second with 10.40 seconds and Benjamin Adukwu of Ondo State was third in 10.45 seconds.

Frederick Agbaje of NSCDC finished fourth with 10.52 seonds while Peter Emelieze of Nigerian Prisons was fifth with 10.53 seconds and Stanley Gbegbeke of Delta was sixth with 10.56 seconds.

Nwogu Onyeabor of Nigerian Prisons Service was in seventh place with 10.70 seconds while Ahmed Kasumu placed last with a time of 10.74 seconds.

Tosin Oke won the men's triple jump with 16.92 metres  (+0.7) and Seun Adigun the  women's 100m hurdles in 13.34 seconds.

See results below: