Zimbabwe’s Muzhingi takes 2012 Two Oceans ultra marathon crown

The 2012 Two Oceans Marathon mosaic

Three-times Comrades marathon winner, Stephen Muzhingi from Zimbabwe won the 56km Old Mutual Two Oceans Marathon 2012 in Cape Town on Easter Saturday, along with the R250,000 prize money.

The 36-year-old, who slipped and fell on the muddy grass at the University of Cape Town, battled the wet and windy conditions to become the first man since Derek Preiss in 1974 to hold the Comrades (marathon) and Two Oceans titles concurrently.

Muzhingi said that pace was the key to his victory. “I maintained my pace until the end," he said.

"I’ve been training for Comrades (to be held on Sunday, June 3, 2012). I was training with guys from Lesotho and that helped a lot.”

Henry Moyo from Malawi came second in 3:08.35 with Muzhingi compatriot, Collen Makaza, settling for third place in 3:08.45 and Gert Thys from South Africa fourth in 3:09:42.

Russian Elena Nurgalieva triumphed in the women's race in a time of 3:41.55 ahead of her compatriot Natalia Volgina (3:45.29) and American Devon Crosby-Helms (3:47:30).

South Africans Xolisa Tyali (1:04:54) and Rene Kalmer (1:15:02) won the men's and women's 21km Half Marathon races respectively.

The 56km Ultra Marathon is in it's 43rd consecutive edition and the 21km Half Marathon marked it's 15th consecutive edition.

A record 25,000 runners, from 78 different countries, took part in this year's Old Mutual Two Oceans Marathon, with some 16,000 running the half-marathon - the highest number in event's history.

Selected Results:

Men's 56km

  1. Stephen Muzhingi (Zimbabwe, 3:08:08)
  2. Henry Moyo (Malawi, 3:08:35)
  3. Collen Makaza (Zimbabwe, 3:08:45)
  4. Gert Thys (South Africa, 3:09:42)

Women's 56km

  1. Elena Nurgalieva (Russia, 3:41:55)
  2. Natalia Volgina (Russia, 3:45:29)
  3. Devon Crosby-Helms (USA, 3:47:30)
  4. Mamorallo Tjoka (Lesotho, 3:48:50)
  5. Samukeliso Moyo (Zimbabwe, 3:49.10

Women's 21km

  1. Rene Kalmer (South Africa, 1:15:02)
  2. Irvette Van Blerk (South Africa, 1:16:22)
  3. Rutendo Nyahora (Zimbabwe, 1:18:30)
  4. Zintle Xiniwe (South Africa, 1:19:39)

Men's 21km

  1. Xolisa Tyali (South Africa, 1:04:54)
  2. Joel Mmone (South Africa, 1:05:01)
  3. Lucky Mohale (South Africa, 1:05:09)
  4. Tshamano Setone South Africa, 1:05:22)

See Complete 2012 Results

We are Social - Follow us