Kenya pencils all-star marathon cast for London 2012

Patrick Makau WR in Berlin 2011 / Photo: Victah Sailer@PhotoRun

Athletics Kenya (AK) has named a provisional marathon team of 12 runners, six women and six men for the 2012 summer Olympic Games in London in a quest to win back-to-back gold medal.

The reigning World men’s marathon record-holder Patrick Makau, twice world marathon champion, Abel Kirui and reigning World women champion Edna Kiplagat will lead Kenya’s marathon team at the July 27-August 12 Games in the British capital.
The team list also includes: 2011 Boston and New York cities marathon winner Geoffrey Mutai; Chicago marathon winner, Moses Mosop; World Marathon Majors winner, Emmanuel Mutai and Frankfurt Marathon winner Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich.
On the women side with Edna Kiplagat are: 2011 London Marathon champion Mary Keitany, 2011 Berlin Marathon winner Florence Kiplagat, Paris Marathon champion and world medalists Priscah Jeptoo and Sharon Cherop with Prague winner Lydia Cheromei.
With Athletics Kenya cool on the earlier wild card offer for Daegu champions, It seemed all 12 runners now have equal chances to be selected for the six Olympic slots. The final selection will be announced after the spring marathons (mainly London, Rotterdam, Boston) on April 30. 

Athletics Kenya Chairman, Isaiah Kiplagat, who spoke to reporters on Tuesday said the country was spoilt for choice.

"There were 150 men and 50 women who had made the qualifying time and we did our best to come up with the best among them," Kiplagat.

"We have watched these athletes and know they are up to the task."

Team List
  1. Patrick Makau
  2. Abel Kirui
  3. Moses Mosop
  4. Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich
  5. Emmanuel Mutai
  6. Geoffrey Mutai
  1. Edna Kiplagat
  2. Florence Kiplagat
  3. Mary Keitany
  4. Priscah Jeptoo
  5. Sharon Cherop
  6. Lydia Cheromei
Interim Marathon Head Coach:
David Letting

We are Social - Follow us