Anaso Jobodwana of South Africa

National record-holders Anaso Jobodwana and Henricho Bruintjies will feature on South Africa’s team for the IAAF World Indoor Championships Portland 2016.

Of the 11 members of the all-men’s team, 10 of them – including [link id="143" tax="post_tag" text="Jobodwana"] – will be making their IAAF World Indoor Championships debut.

Jobodwana set a national record of 19.87 when taking the bronze medal at the IAAF World Championships [link id="520" tax="category" text="Beijing 2015"] to go alongside the national indoor record of 20.47 he set in 2013. Last year he set a 60m PB of 6.60.

Fellow sprinter [link id="780" tax="post_tag" text="Henricho Bruintjies"] has never competed indoors, but last year set a South African 100m record of 9.97, a mark that was equalled a few days later by [link id="715" tax="post_tag" text="Akani Simbine"].

[link id="334" tax="post_tag" text="Zarck Visser"] is the only member of the team to have previously competed at the IAAF World Indoor Championships.

After jumping an indoor PB of 7.93m in Sopot two years ago, he went on to win the African title and take the silver medal at the Commonwealth Games. Last year he improved his outdoor best to 8.41m.

African decathlon record-holder [link id="874" tax="post_tag" text="Willem Coertzen"] will contest the heptathlon, while All-Africa Games champion Antonio Alkana is entered for the 60m hurdles and African bronze medallist [link id="714" tax="post_tag" text="Ruswahl Samaai"] will compete in the long jump.

Team South Africa to Portland 2016

60m: Henricho Bruintjies, Anaso Jobodwana
60m hurdles: Antonio Alkana
Long jump: Ruswahl Samaai, Zarck Visser
Heptathlon: Willem Coertzen
4x400m: Shaun de Jager, Ofentse Mogawane, Thapelo Phora, Jon Seeliger, Sonwabiso Skhosana