Justice Catherine O’Regan / South Africa

The IAAF Ethics Commission has announced the appointment of South African Justice Catherine O’Regan to the Commission.

A press statement by the [link id="861" tax="post_tag" text="IAAF Ethics Commission"] to announce the appointment stated that, Justice Catherine O’Regan was appointed with another new member Ms Annabel Pennefather, who is a distinguished Singaporean lawyer with substantial experience in sports law and governance.

Their appointment was approved by the IAAF President, [link id="811" tax="post_tag" text="Sebastian Coe"], and the IAAF Council on 14 December 2015.

[link id="867" tax="post_tag" text="Justice Catherine O’Regan"] is a former judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa and has served since 2010 as an ad hoc judge of the Supreme Court of [link id="86" tax="category" text="Namibia"].

She has significant experience in leading high-level inquiries and tribunals, and is currently acting as the President of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal and as a Member of the World Bank Sanctions Board.

Between 2008 – 2012 she was the Chairperson of the United Nations Internal Justice Council and between 2012 – 2014 she was the Chairperson of the Commission of Inquiry into allegations of inefficiency in the South African Police Service in Khayelitsha, Western Cape, South Africa.

She is a member of the Board of Corruption Watch, South Africa and holds a number of prestigious academic positions, including as Visiting
Professor at the University of Oxford.

Ms Annabel Pennefather is currently a Vice President of the Singapore National Olympic Council, Deputy President of the International Hockey Federation’s Judicial Commission and a Member of the Olympic Council of Asia’s Sports for All Committee.

She has served as Chef de Mission for Singapore’s contingents at a number of major multi-sport Games such as the Manchester Commonwealth Games in 2002, the Athens Olympic Games in 2004, the Doha Asian Games in 2006, the New Delhi Commonwealth Games in 2010 and the Myanmar SEA Games in 2013.

She was a Board Member of the Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee in 2010 and a Steering Committee Member for the 2015 SEA Games.

"The Ethics Commission welcomes these strong additions to its number at a time when the sport of Athletics is facing particular challenges and in the light of the Ethics Commission’s important current and prospective work," concludes the statement.

The appointment of Justice O’Regan and Ms Pennefather brings the total number of Ethics Commission members to nine. A full list of the current members of the IAAF Ethics Commission can be found on Commission's website.