Lamine Diack (L), IAAF President greets Genzebe Dibaba of Ethiopia during a press conference prior to the IAAF World Indoor | Photo Credit: IAAF / Getty Images

The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) has announces the names of the 10 men and 10 women who have been shortlisted for the 2014 World Athlete of the Year Award.

The candidates have been selected by an international panel of athletics experts which include representatives from all six continental areas of the [link id="175" tax="post_tag" text="IAAF"].

An email poll involving the World Athletics Family begins today, Friday October 3, and will close on Thursday October 16, midnight CET.

At the conclusion of the voting process, three male and three female finalists will be selected and announced by the IAAF.

The Council of the International Athletics Foundation will then select the male and female winners, with the announcement taking place live on stage during the 2014 World Athletics Gala on Friday November 21, 2014.

The candidates for the World Athlete of the Year Award are (athletes listed in alphabetical order):


  1. [link id="424" tax="post_tag" text="Nigel Amos"] (BOT)
  2. Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
  3. [link id="527" tax="post_tag" text="Jairus Kipchoge Birech "](KEN)
  4. Bogdan Bondarenko (UKR)
  5. Yohann Diniz (FRA)
  6. Justin Gatlin (USA)
  7. Robert Harting (GER)
  8. [link id="566" tax="post_tag" text="Dennis Kipruto Kimetto"] (KEN)
  9. Renaud Lavillenie (FRA)
  10. LaShawn Merritt (USA)


  1. Valerie Adams (NZL)
  2. [link id="379" tax="post_tag" text="Genzebe Dibaba"] (ETH)
  3. Dawn Harper Nelson (USA)
  4. Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
  5. Francena McCorory (USA)
  6. Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
  7. Dafne Schippers (NED)
  8. Kaliese Spencer (JAM)
  9. Barbora Spotakova (CZE)
  10. Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

[icon class="icon-border" name="eye"]View summaries of each athlete's achievements in 2014

Note: World Athletics Family: IAAF & IAF Council members; IAAF national member federations; IAAF Committee & Commission members; IAAF meeting directors; IAAF athlete ambassadors; athletes’ representatives; top athletes; members of the international press; IAAF staff members and the IAAF’s official partners.