Eliud Kipchoge and Mary Keitany win World Marathon Series IX – AthleticsAfrica
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Eliud Kipchoge and Mary Keitany win World Marathon Series IX

Kenyans Eliud Kipchoge and Mary Keitany, the world’s best Male and Female marathoners for 2015, earned $1 Million total prize purse for winning the Abbott World Marathon Major Series IX.

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) and Mary Keitany (KEN) are the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series IX champions.
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) and Mary Keitany (KEN) are the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series IX champions.

Kenyans Eliud Kipchoge and Mary Keitany are the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series IX champions, it was announced on Sunday by Tim Hadzima, general manager of the Abbott World Marathon Majors and the six leaders of the world’s top marathons, following the Tokyo Marathon 2016, the final race of the Series.

[link id=”141″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Mary Keitany”], who was tied along with [link id=”717″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Mare Dibaba”] (ETH) and Helah Kiprop (KEN) with 41 points, was selected as the Series IX women’s champion in a vote by the leaders of the six AbbottWMM member races, in accordance with the Abbott WMM tie-breaking procedure.

Kipchoge and Keitany, who will each earn $500,000 (USD), were honoured at an awards ceremony to mark the conclusion of the year-long series that featured the AbbottWMM races: the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin Money London, BMW BERLIN, Bank of America Chicago and TCS New York City Marathons, and the IAAF World Championships Marathon.

Also honored today were David Mark, of Chicago, Illinois, and Barbara Fleming-Ovens, of Cranfield, Ireland, who finished the Tokyo Marathon to become AbbottWMM Six Star Finishers.

They represent the almost 600 runners from all over the world who have completed all six of the AbbottWMM marathons, and they were the first to receive the new medals that are now available to all Six Star Finishers.

The final race in Series IX concluded a year of remarkable races and significant developments for the Abbott World Marathon Majors. Series IX marked the first year of Abbott’s title sponsorship, which kicked off when the series began at Tokyo Marathon 2015.

In addition, this year AbbottWMM debuted the new-style one-year cycle of Qualifying Races; launched unprecedented anti-doping initiatives including a five-year purse payout programme and additional testing of the world’s top marathoners; and created the new Abbott World Marathon Majors Wheelchair Series.

“This year we’ve demonstrated our commitment to championing the sport, supporting the elite runners who prove that marathoners are among the world’s greatest athletes, and celebrating the 250,000 runners who every year join us on our iconic courses,” said AbbottWMM general manager Tim Hadzima.

“Congratulations to Eliud, Mary, David, Barbara and all our Six Star Finishers, and we look forward to the beginning of Abbott World Marathon Majors Series X and the new Wheelchair Series in Boston in April.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“We are inspired by these amazing athletes – our elite champions, our Six Star Finishers, and all the runners – who show us what is possible through the power of health,” said Elaine Leavenworth, senior vice president, chief marketing and external affairs officer of Abbott.

“We are pleased to support the Abbott World Marathon Majors and celebrate all the runners who have worked so hard and achieved so much.”

Eliud Kipchoge and Mary Keitany from Kenya

World Marathon Majors Series IX winners – Eliud Kipchoge and Mary Keitany from Kenya

The Abbott World Marathon Majors Series IX Champions

Eliud Kipchoge arrived at the top of the AbbottWMM Series IX leaderboard, earning 50 points for his victories at the [link id=”9812″ text=”2015 Virgin Money London Marathon”] and the [link id=”10559″ text=”2015 BMW BERLIN Marathon.”]

Mary Keitany earned her AbbottWMM Series IX championship with a victory at the [link id=”326″ tax=”post_tag” text=”2015 TCS New York City Marathon”] and a second-place finish at the [link id=”365″ tax=”post_tag” text=”2015 Virgin Money London Marathon”].

How the Abbott World Marathon Majors Works

Athletes earn the following points by placing among the top five in qualifying races during the 12-month period:

  • 1st place – 25 points
  • 2nd place – 16 points
  • 3rd place – 9 points
  • 4th place – 4 points
  • 5th place – 1 point

The champions are the male and female athletes who score the most points during the one-year scoring period.

Points from a maximum of two races are scored. An athlete must start in at least two races over the cycle to be eligible. If an athlete earns points in more than two events, the athlete’s highest two finishes are scored.

The AbbottWMM race directors met as a group immediately after the conclusion of the Tokyo Marathon 2016 and participated in a vote to validate the winners of the AbbottWMM Series IX title.

The unanimous vote for the women’s champion focused on the strength of the race fields in which Keitany, Dibaba and Kiprop competed, as determined by the number of total AbbottWMM points earned by their competitors in the respective races.

The following races made up the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series IX:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
  1. February 22, 2015 Tokyo Marathon
  2. April 20, 2015 Boston Marathon
  3. April 26, 2015 Virgin Money London Marathon
  4. August 22, 2015 IAAF World Championships Men’s Marathon (Beijing)
  5. August 30, 2015 IAAF World Championships Women’s Marathon (Beijing)
  6. September 27, 2015 BMW BERLIN Marathon
  7. October 11, 2015 Bank of America Chicago Marathon
  8. November 1, 2015 TCS New York City Marathon
  9. February 28, 2016 Tokyo Marathon

AbbottWMM Series X, and the new AbbottWMM Wheelchair Series X, begin at the April 2016 Boston Marathon and end upon completion of the April 2017 [link id=”441″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Boston Marathon”].

The [link id=”315″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Rio 2016 “]Olympic and Paralympic Marathons are also part of Series X.

Meet The Authors

The Editorial Board at AthleticsAfrica | Website | + Posts

Athletics Africa group of editors and contributors brings to your desktop and tablet screens the best of African athletics and track & field news and information every day of the week.

You May Also Like


Kenyan superstar Eliud Kipchoge will return to the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON on 25 September 2022,  four years after his spectacular world record there.


World record holder and seven-time World Marathon Majors winner Mary Keitany from Kenya retires from the sport.


Kenyan marathon world record-holder Eliud Kipchoge becomes only the third man to successfully defend an Olympic marathon title on Sunday in Sapporo.


Eliud Kipchoge and Dalilah Muhammad have been named the male and female World Athletes of the Year at the World Athletics Awards 2019, held...

Click to access the login or register cheese