Kenyans Kipsang and Keitany sweep New York marathon – AthleticsAfrica
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Kenyans Kipsang and Keitany sweep New York marathon

Kenyans Mary Keitany and Wilson Kipsang surged to a clean sweep of the men’s and women’s titles at the 2014 New York City marathon on Sunday.

Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Mary Keitany won the New York City marathon in 2014 / Photo: Organisers
Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Mary Keitany won the New York City marathon in 2014 / Photo: Organisers

Kenyans Mary Keitany and Wilson Kipsang surged to a clean sweep of the men’s and women’s titles at the 2014 TCS New York City Marathon on Sunday.

In the men’s race, former marathon world-record holder [link id=”299″ tax=”post_tag” text=” Wilson Kipsang”] and his training partner, two-time defending champion [link id=”324″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Geoffrey Mutai”], had very large stakes.

If Kipsang won, he’d overtake Dennis Kimetto for the 2013–2014 World Marathon Majors title, worth US$500,000. But he’d have to beat Mutai, who would earn $100,000 if he won and would become the first male three-time champion since Alberto Salazar in 1982.

Kipsang and Mutai ran in tandem at the front with seven others still in contact until the 20-mile mark . But after they turned to the south and acquired a tailwind, a two-man break was made with Mutai dropped by Wilson Kipsang and Ethiopian [link id=”569″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Lelisa Desisa”].

Kipsang overcame Desisa to take the New York Marathon title in 2:10:59 thus claiming victories the Berlin, London and New York marathons in just over 13 months.

Ethiopia’s Lelisa Desisa settled for second in 2:11:03 while his compatriot and 2010 New York winner Gebre Gebremariam took third in 2:12:13

“I’m used to a fast pace from the start,” said the Kipsang after the race. “Here, with no pacemakers and so much wind, I had to exercise patience.”

Keitany’s redemption

In her first marathon after the birth of her second child and despite not having run a marathon since finishing fourth at the 2012 Olympics in London, [link id=”141″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Mary Keitany”] edged out fellow Kenyan [link id=”570″ tax=”post_tag” text=”Jemima Sumgong”] in the last mile to win the women’s title.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Mary Keitany crossed the line in 2:25:07, ahead of Jemima Sumgong ( 2:25:10) and debutant Sara Moreira of Portugal, who finished third in 2:26:00.

“I worked hard for this opportunity,” said Keitany who got redemption for the disastrous race in 2011 where she raced out to a big lead only to be passed and forced to settle for third place in New York.

Play race video

Selected Results


  1. Mary Keitany (KEN) 2:25:07
  2. Jemima Sumgong (KEN) 2:25:10
  3. Sara Moreira (POR) 2:25:59
  4. Jelena Prokopcuka (LAT) 2:26:15
  5. Desiree Linden (USA) 2:28:10
  6. Rkia El Moukim (MAR) 2:28:12
  7. Firehiwot Dado (ETH) 2:28:35


  1. Wilson Kipsang (KEN) 2:10:59
  2. Lelisa Desisa (ETH) 2:11:03
  3. Gebre Gebremariam (ETH) 2:12:13
  4. Meb Keflezighi (USA) 2:13:18
  5. Stephen Kiprotich (UGA) 2:13:25
  6. Geoffrey Mutai (KEN) 2:13:44
  7. Masato Imai (JPN) 2:14:36

Meet The Authors

Website | + Posts

Yomog Meje is a former Nigerian junior athlete and the Associate editor at Athletics Africa.

You May Also Like


World record holder and seven-time World Marathon Majors winner Mary Keitany from Kenya retires from the sport.


This year’s World Marathon Champions Lelisa Desisa (Ethiopia) and Ruth Chepngetich (Kenya) are the Marathon Runners of the Year 2019.


For Lelisa Desisa, victory on Doha’s famous Corniche not only ended a 42-kilometre road race, but a six-year journey to redemption following his narrow...

Features and Reports

Kenya's Eliud Kipchoge’s aim at the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON on September 16 this year is clear cut: to break his personal best. Given that Kipchoge...

Click to access the login or register cheese