Nigerian athletes at the AFN Golden League Meeting

The second leg of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria, AFN Golden League Meet initially fixed for Kaduna State will now take place in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

Olukayode Thomas, Head of Media for the AFN, explained that the one-day athletics meet originally planned for the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna on Saturday June 27, 2015 will now take place at the Abuja National Stadium on the same date.

Mr. Thomas stated that the AFN regretted the last minute change in venue but he was also quick to add that the change was inevitable due to lack of support from the Kaduna State Sports Council.

“We have moved the AFN Golden League from Kaduna to the Abuja due to the lack of support from the Kaduna State Sports council, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this change may have caused members of the Athletics family and other stake holders”. Mr. Thomas stated.

Seeded athletes

Already the AFN has released names of athletes on the A list for the second leg of the Golden League Meet.

Four athletes made the cut in In the shot put women; they are Uju Anoliefo, Eucharia Ogbukwo, Chime Nkechi Leticia and Michael Gift.

Also, four men javelin throwers are set for challenge in Abuja , they are Kure Samuel Adams, Ezeofor Kenechukwu, Friday Osayande and Ezeh John Mike.

Only two athletes qualified in the high jump women Anigbata Grace and Nwichi Ngozi Blessing.

In the long jump women four made the Golden League, they are Chinazom Amadi, Brume Ese, Ibrahim Blessing Ibukun and Hope Idhe.

The long jump men is however a sharp contrast as only two men Okulaja Babajide and Oladimeji Oluwatoyin qualify.

Martins Ogierakhi a medalist at the 2014 Africa Athletics Championships lead the 110m hurdles qualifiers, other are Okon Samuel Etim, Wisdom Benjamin and Abdullahi Bashiru.

Four athletes achieved the qualifying mark in high jump men, Okpara Theddus, Obiora Arinze, Ayebide Kindsley and Awoke Chizoba.

Four athletes also ran the qualifying time in the women 100m Igbinosun Isoken Wisdom, Ezealah Nkem, Cecilia Francis and Abolaji Omotayo.

The same number also ran the qualifying time the men century Imhoaperamhe Nicholas, Oduduru Divine, Odele Tega Peter and Emuobonuvie Mamus.

In the women full lap, Adeloye Oluwatosin, Ossai Rita Vivian, Idamadudu Praise and Josephine Ehigie qualified for the Golden League, in the men full lap Orukpe Erayokan, Noah Akwu, Nathaniel Samson and Isah Salihu are in the Golden League.

The 400m hurdles women produce four qualifiers Akpofa Daisy, Kadiri Sarah, Efe Favour and Nathaniel Glory.

Four athletes also made the Golden League in the 1500m men Hamadjam Soudi, Musa Godfrey Charles, Dessidji Romany and Barnabas David.

The following clubs also qualify for the relays, Customs, CDA, NSCDC, Police, and Esteem Athletics Club.