Team South Africa

South African Athletics governing body Athletics South Africa (ASA) have announced a 22-member preliminary team for next month's IAAF World Championships, London 2017.

The squad includes all four of the country's track and field medallists at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games, with 400m world record-holder Wayde van Niekerk, Long Jumper Luvo Manyonga, 800m runner Caster Semenya and Javelin Throw’s Sunette Viljoen spearheading the team.

They will be joined by a number of other medal contenders, including in-form sprinter Akani Simbine, Long Jumper Ruswahl Samaai and hurdler Antonio Alkana.

Athletes who have not been included in the squad will have until the end of the qualifying window in July to achieve the ASA A-standard in their respective disciplines to book themselves a place in the final team.

The 16th edition of the biennial IAAF World Championships will be held in the English capital from 4-13 August, 2017.

“This is the time for athletes who are still searching for a qualifier to show their mettle,” said Aleck Skhosana, the President of ASA. “Work harder and don’t give up. There is still a chance for anybody who want to represent the Rainbow Nation at this global premier event.”

Final team decisions

Athletics South Africa will be entering a final team for the 2017 IAAF World Championships no later than 23 July 2017.

Before the final entry date, ASA will have to decide which of the 4 long jumpers, whom qualified , in the men’s category, on the A-Standard of the ASA Qualifying standards, will be entered to represent South Africa at the IAAF World Championships.

According to the IAAF Rules for the competition, only 3 athletes can be entered per country in each event.

Furthermore, ASA will have to wait until 23 July, when the IAAF will announce which relay teams qualified for the IAAF World Championships.

The only South African team that stand a chance to be selected to participate at the 2017 IAAF World Championships is the 4 x 100m Men’s’ Relay team, which are currently ranked no 7th in the world.

Only the top 8 teams are invited by the IAAF to participate at the 2017 IAAF World Championships, along with the top 8 finishing teams of the IAAF World Relay Championships.

A total of 20 athletes have qualified so far for the 2017 IAAF World Championships.

Team South Africa:




Akani Simbine (AGN)

Thando Roto (AGN)


Carina Horn (AGN)

Akani Simbine (AGN)

Wayde Van Niekerk (AFS)

Clarence Munyai (AGN)

Ncincilili Titi (USA)


Wayde Van Niekerk AFS (WC)



Caster Semenya (ACNW)

April Lusapho (EPA)

Sibusiso Nzima (CGA)

Desmond Mokgobo (CGA)


Mapaseka Makhanya (CGA)

Jenna Challenor (KZNA)

Antonio Alkana (WPA)

110m H

400m H

Wenda Nel (AGN)

Luvo Manyonga (AGN)

Ruswahl Samaai (CGA)

Zarck Visser (CGA)

Khotso Mokoena (AGN)

Long Jump

Oratio Cremona (AGN)

Jaco Engelbrecht (CGA)

Shot Put

Rocco Van Rooyen (WPA)

Javelin Throw

Sunette Viljoen (ACNW)