Hellen Obiri at the London Diamond League / Photo IDL/Errol Anderson

Kenya's Hellen Obiri won the Women's 1 Mile race at the 2017 Müller Anniversary Games leg of the IAAF Diamond League in London on Sunday, breaking her national record and setting a new meeting record of 4:16.56.

Hellen Obiri moves above Mary Slaney on the world all-time list, eclipsing Faith Kipyegon as the fastest Kenyan ever, and second only to Ethiopia's Genzebe Dibaba in the World.

Another Kenyan Winny Chebet was third in 4:19.55 while there was a Polish record of 4:19.55 for Angelika Cichoka in fourth place. Ethiopia's Axumawit Embaye finished in 15th place in 4:35.54.

In the men’s 800m, Botswana's Nijel Amos leapt to the top of the world leaderboard as he brought back memories of the 2012 Olympic final where he chased world record-setting David Rudisha to the line for a world U20 record of 1:41.73.

He wasn’t quite that quick on Sunday, but Amos adopted Rudisha-like tactics as he held off the field into the home straight to win in 1:43.18, his quickest time since 2015.

US champion Donavan Brazier went sub-1:44 for the first time this year with 1:43.95 while Kenya’s triple world 1500m champion Asbel Kiprop finished third in 1:44.43.

Nijel Amos winning at the London Diamond League 2017 / Photo IDL/Errol Anderson

Nijel Amos winning at the London Diamond League 2017 / Photo IDL/Errol Anderson

Blessing Okagbare-Ighoteguonor finished third in the women's 100m in a season's best time of 10.99 secs with a headwind of -1.4m/s, the Nigerian’s first sub-11 of the season.

Olympic champion Elaine Thompson of Jamaica, who suffered a surprise defeat to Okagbare-Ighoteguonor 11.04-11.16 in her heat, rallied to win the final in 10.94 with Dutchwoman Dafne Schippers second in 10.97.

African 100m record-holder, Murielle Ahoure from the Ivory Coast pulled out of the Final because of a slight discomfort after running 11.06 in the heats.

Women's 100m final line-up / Photo: Yomi Omogbeja / AthleticsAfrica.com

Blessing Okagbare during the women's 100m final line-up at the 2017 Muller Anniversary Games - London Diamond League / Photo: Yomi Omogbeja / AthleticsAfrica.com

African champion Wenda Nel from South Africa took the third position in the women 400m hurdles in 54.73, dipping under 55 secs for the third time this year, with Janieve Russell of Jamaica securing victory in 54.02.


Carina Horn won the women's 100m dash in a lifetime best 11.05 secs at the European Classic Permit Meeting in Sotteville, France, though the SA record holder was aided by a +2.6m/s wind.

Another South African Zarck Visser again sailed over the eight metre mark to win the men's Long Jump with a best of 8.07m.

In Kortrijk, Belgium on Saturday, Justin Palframan won the women's 200m race in a personal best time of 22.84 and also secured victory in the 400m event in 52.47. Showing consistent form, the World Student Games one-lap champion had clocked a 400m Season Best of 52.30 in Celle Ligure three days earlier.

The next day, the South African went on to win the 200m race at the Brussels Grand Prix in 23.07 after having clocked a season;s best 52.30 in the 400m in Celle Ligure three days earlier.

Lebakeng Sesele also won the 200m Men race in Kortrijk, achieving a personal best of 20.27 secs, becoming the sixth athlete to dip under the Athletics South Africa A-standard qualifying time in the 200m for the IAAF World Championships in London next month.

Full Results - IAAF Diamond League - London 2017