Athletics South Africa logo

The ad hoc committee of Athletics South Africa (ASA) has announced that a special general meeting would be held on May 24 to elect a new ASA executive board.

This is in line with an agreement reached on February 24, 2014 between Chieke Thiare of the [link id="175" tax="post_tag" text="International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF)"] and the [link id="127" tax="post_tag" text="ASA"] ad hoc committee.

The committee said in a statement on Tuesday that nominations were invited for office-bearers to fill the following positions on the ASA executive board: president, vice-president, chairpersons of the cross-country commission, the road running commission, the track and field commission and the athletes' commission, and four additional members. Nominations must reach the ASA offices before April 24, 2014.

The election of the new board will take place on May 24, to be presided over by Daan du Toit, chairperson of the ad hoc committee of Athletics SA, and an IAAF official.

No member of the ad hoc committee may stand for any position in the election, in terms of the agreement between Thiare and Athletics SA. In addition, none of the removed ASA board members will have voting rights in the election.