Fredericks unveils Namibian teams for 2010 competitions

Submitted by Namibia Sport on 23 April 2010 - 9:52am

Athletics Namibia President, Frank Fredericks has announced the junior and senior national teams that will compete at international athletics meetings in the coming months.

According to Namibia Sport, the teams were selected following the Coca Cola Frank Fredericks Invitational on April 9 and the Bank Windhoek Senior National Championships the next day.

The Namibian Youth team, which will compete at a Youth Olympic Games qualifying competition on May 14 and 15 in Botswana or Mauritius, is as follows:

  • Cornel Britz (100m/200m)
  • Ottilie Shiyakela (400m)
  • Klaudia Moses (800m/1 500m, 3 000m)
  • Michelle Pretorius (high jump)
  • Charlene Engelbrecht (shot put/discus)
  • Sune Wittmann (javelin throw)

Four athletes on a waiting list will be included if one of the selected athletes cannot make the trip.

They are: 

  • Lisa Ngundu
  • Leandri van der Walt
  • Albertina Nepando
  • Abrille Beukes.

Middle distance athlete Julia Handjene, who has already qualified for the Youth Olympic Games, will not accompany the team.

A provisional junior team was announced to participate in the Southern Region Junior World Championships in Maputo on May 29 and 30 and the IAAF World Junior Championships in Moncton, Canada from 19 to 25 July.

The junior female athletes are:

  • Merilyn Diamond (100m/200m)
  • Ruben Kristofina (1500m/3000m)
  • Ester Lazarus (3000m)
  • Corlia Kruger (high jump/long jump)
  • Cornelia Kahl (long jump/triple jump)
  • Ottilie Shiyakela (400m)
  • Klaudia Moses (800m/1500m/3000m)
  • Julia Handjene (800m/1500m/3000m)
  • Michelle Pretorius (high jump)
  • Cari Engels (100m hurdles)

The male junior athletes are:

  • Jesse urikhob (100m/200m)
  • Philip Paulus (100m/200m)
  • Eben Eichab (100m/200m/4x100m)
  • Thomas Reinhold (800m/1500m/3000m)
  • Strydom van der Wath (javelin throw)
  • Mbeurora Katiijo (800m/1500m)
  • Wilbur Henkert (110m hurdles/400m hurdles)
  • FC Pieterse (100m/200m/110m hurdles)
  • Pierre Cronje (400m).

Jesse Urikhob and Strydom van der Wath have already qualified for the international junior events.

A provisional senior team was selected for the Senior African Championships which will take place in Nairobi, Kenya from 28 July to 1 August as well as the Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India from 6 to 14 October.

The team consists of:

  • Tjipekapora Herunga (200m/400m)
  • Hitjiverue Kaanjuka (100m/200m)
  • Daniel Nghipandulwa (800m/1500m)
  • Rodger Haitengi (triple jump)

Hardus Maritz (110m hurdles), Stephan Low (long jump) and Kristoph Shaanika are on the waiting list.

A provisional road running team was selected to participate at the Commonwealth Games as well as the IAAF World Half Marathon Championships in Nanjing, China on 16 October.

The team consists of Beata Naigambo, Helalia Johannes and Reinhold Iita, while Eric Goeieman is on the waiting list.