Kenya selects 53 for Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India

Submitted by ATAF Editor on 30 August 2010 - 3:11am

Athletics Kenya has unveiled a team of 53 athletes for the 2010 Commonwealth Games after a low-key selection process at Nairobi's Nyayo National Stadium bereft of most star runners who were handed byes for the October 3 to 14 events in India.

The new World 800m record-holder, David Rudisha, Olympics champions Nancy Jebet Lagat, Brimin Kipruto and Asbel Kiprop; World champions, Ezekiel Kemboi and Vivian Cheruiyot, Linet Masai and Janeth Jepkosgei are among the athletes named.

Kemboi and Jepkosgei are returning to defend their men's steeplechase and women's 800m Commonwealth title respectively.

Big omissions from the squad include defending Commonwealth champion over 5,000men, Augustine Choge who was not given a wildcard and Olympics silver winner at the same event, Eliud Kipchoge, who could only muster a third finish in 13:25.27 at the Trials.

"As promised, we have named a strong team for the Commonwealth Games and it is our hope they will carry on the impressive performances our athletes have had in Poland, Canada, Nairobi and Singapore," AK boss, Isaiah Kiplagat, said after the trials.

Team list:

Anderson Mureta, Kipkemoi Soi (200m), Mark Mutai, Vincent Mumo (400m), Vincent Kiplagat Kosgei (400m hurdles), David Rudisha, Richard Kiplagat, Boaz Lalang (800m), Asbel Kiprop, Silas Kiplagat, James Magut (1500m), Edwin Soi, Vincent Yator, Mark Kiptoo (5000m), Titus Mbishei, Joseph Kiptoo Birech, Daniel Lemashon Salel (10,000m), Richard Mateelong, Ezekiel Kemboi, Brimin Kipruto (3,000m SC), Luke Kibet, Amos Matui, John Kilai Ekiru (marathon), David Rudisha, Mark Mutai, Vincent Mumo, Anderson Mureta (4X400m), David Kimutai, Josephat Sirma, Sylvanus Wekesa (20km walk), Julius Yego (Javelin), Tera Langat (long jump).

Maureen Jelagat, Florence Wasike (400m hurdles), Janeth Jeokosgei, Cherono Koech, Winnie Chebet (800m), Nancy Jebet Lagat, Irene Jelagat, Viola Kibiwott (1,500m), Vivian Cheruiyot, Syvia Kibet, Iness Chenonge (5000m), Linet Masai, Doris Chageiywo, Grace Momanyi (10,000m), Janeth Jepkosgei, Nancy Lagat, Maureen Jelagat, Florence Wasike (4X400m), Caroline Kilel, Irene Jerotich Kosgei, Rose Kerubo (marathon), Grace Wanjiru, Emily Ngii (walk), Priscilla Isaio (hammer ). Technical officials - David Letting, Peter Mathu, Nicholas Kilisio (coaches), Peter Nduhiu, Japheth Kariakim (physiotherapists), Peter Angwenyi (team manager), Tecla Sang, Esther Chebet (ast. team manager).