Nigeria selects squad of 17 for Daegu - IAAF World Championships

Submitted by Sunny Oke Oluku on 14 August 2011 - 2:50pm

The Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) has listed seventeen athletes to represent the country at the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) World Championships, Daegu, Korea, 27 August to 4 September.

According to the President of the federation, Chief Solomon Ogba, athletes selected are medal prospect as the World Championship is not a jamboree.

In the list released last Wednesday, Africa track queen, Blessing Okagbare will be competing in the 100m 4x100m and Long Jump events.

Former US sprinter, Gloria Asunmu who debuted in Nigeria during the national trials in Calaber will run in the 100m and 4x100m while Damola Osayomi will also be on track for the 100m and 4x100m.

Also on the list are: African 100m hurdles champion, Seun Adigun 100mH and 4x100m, University of Texas in El Paso (UTEP) track sensation, Endurance Abinuwa goes for 4x100m. Agnes Osazuwa 4x100m, Bukola Abogunloko 4x400m, Margaret Etim 4x400m, Ajoke Odumosu 400m hurdles and 4x400m, Blessing Mayungbe 4x400m, Chizoba Okodogbe 4x400m, Omolara Omotosho Shot Put, Doreen Amata High Jump, Ogho Oghene Egwero 100m, Peter Emelieze 100m, Stanley Gbagbeke Long Jump and Africa and Commonwealth Games triple jump champion, Tosin Oke.

Full lists below: