Ghana's Flings Owusu-Agyapong leads in the women's 100m race at the 2015 Warri Relays/CAA Grand Prix at the Warri Township Stadium in Nigeria / Photo: Making of Champions

Ghanaian athletes stole the limelight from their Nigerian counterparts at the 2015 Warri Relays/CAA Grand Prix held inside the Warri Township Stadium, in Delta state of Nigeria on Friday.

Ghana's [link id="745" tax="post_tag" text="Emmanuel Dasor"] defy the bad weather to clock 46.14 for victory in the men’s 400m ahead of his compatriot Daniel Gyasi, who finished second in 46.45 while Nigeria’s [link id="759" tax="post_tag" text="Erayokan Orukpe"] was third in 46.52.

Another Ghanaian, John Ampomah, triumphed in the men’s Javelin with a best distance of 73.73m ahead of Nigerians Kenechukwu Ezeofor (67.32m) and Friday Osayande (64.74m) who settled for second and third positions respectively.

Dasor then proved his 400m victory was not a fluke by anchoring the [link id="7" tax="category" text="Ghana"]'s 4x400m quartet, comprising of George Effah, Daniel Gyasi and Kwadwo Acheampong, to victory in the relay in a time of 3:04.72.

[link id="5" tax="category" text="Nigeria"] led by Erayokan finished second after being caught by the Dasor in 3:04.77 while [link id="96" tax="category" text="Botswana"] was third in 3:06.49.

...Story continues below the advert...

Nigeria however savour some home victories at the Warri Relays with the women's team winning the 4x400m relay in 3:30.88 ahead of Botswana (3:36.97) and Nigeria’s team B (3:46.43).

[link id="482" tax="post_tag" text="Amaka Ogoegbunam"] of Nigeria won the women’s 400m hurdles in 56.26, with Daisy Akpofa of Ghana second in 58.51 and Glory Nathaniel third in 58.53.

Mozambique’s Kurt Couto won the men’s 400m Hurdles in 50.46 ahead of Nigeria's Henry Okorie, who clocked 50.86 for second ahead of 2012 African champion[link id="435" tax="post_tag" text=" Amaechi Morton"], who finished third in 51.01.

Precious Ogunleye of Nigeria won the women’s Hammer with a best throw of 56.25m with Nigerians Cecilia Ekpenyong, second with 44.95m, and Rita Modili, third with 39.73m, respectively.

Former national champion [link id="150" tax="post_tag" text="Ogho-Oghene Egwero"] won the men's 100m A race in 10.23 followed by Jonathan Nmaju (10.34) and former national sprint champion Obinna Metu was third in 10.37.

[link id="152" tax="post_tag" text="Gloria Asumnu"] won the women’s 100m A race in 11.60 edging out Ghana’s [link id="641" tax="post_tag" text="Fling Owusu-Agyapong"] (11.61) on the line with Nigeria's [link id="770" tax="post_tag" text="Nkem Ezealah"] a distant third in 11.71.

African junior champion [link id="504" tax="post_tag" text="Divine Oduduru"] won the men's 100m B race in 10.38 ahead of Peter Tega Odele, second in 10.43, and third placed Chukwuma Onyeaku (10.56) while Stephanie Kalu won the women's B race in 11.63 ahead of Deborah Odeyemi (11.69) and Ngozi Onwumere (11.72).

Theddus Okpara won the men's long jump with a best distance of 7.90m, followed by [link id="486" tax="post_tag" text="Samson Idiata"], who was second with 7.85m, while British-born Nigerian Ezekiel Ewulo was third with 7.68m.

Britain’s Nathan Fox took victory in the men's triple jump with a leap of 16.65m while Nigeria's Olamide Olamigoke finished second with a best jump of 16.53m.

[icon class="icon-border" name="file-text-o"] Full RESULTS: Warri Relays 2015 - CAA Grand Prix meeting

Day in a Tweet