Tosin Oke after winning at the African Athletics Championships in Nairobi 2010 / Photo Copyrights: Yomi Omogbeja / AthleticsAfrica.Com

Tosin Oke, Gloria Asumnu and Chinazom Amadi provided the highlights on the first day of the 2015 Nigerian Athletics Championships at the Warri Township stadium in Delta-State on Thursday 30 July.

[link id="166" tax="post_tag" text="Tosin Oke"] won the men's triple jump title yet again with a season's best jump of 16.98m to qualify for the IAAF World championships in Beijing next month.

Olamide Olamigoke finished a distant second with a best of 16.80m while Kolawole Adedoyin was third with a best jump of 15.79m.

[link id="805" tax="post_tag" text="Chinazom Amadi"] emerged the surprised winner of the women's Long Jump, soaring to a season's best 6.24m to dump the Commonwealth champion, [link id="502" tax="post_tag" text="Ese Brume"] into second place with 6.14m, with 17-year-old [link id="806" tax="post_tag" text="Ruth Usoro"] taking third with 6.07m.

[link id="152" tax="post_tag" text="Gloria Asumnu "]took full advantage of the absent African and Commonwealth champion, [link id="158" tax="post_tag" text="Blessing Okagbare-Ighoteguonor"] to claim her first national title, winning the women's 100m event in 11.42 secs.

Stephanie Kalu came second in 11.47 secs, ahead of Deborah Odeyemi of Customs (11.66) and Cecilia Francis of Lagos State (11.67) while Ngozi Onwumere was fifth in 11.69 secs.

In other events concluded yesterday, Tyron Akins reclaimed his 110m Hurdles title in 13.68 secs, followed by Alex Al-Ameen (14.00) and Martins Ogieriakhi (14.13).

Claire Uke took the women’s Discus Throw title with a best of 50.91m ahead of Precious Ogunleye, who came second with 48.32m and Celestina Efobi, who finished third 40.59m.

Augustine Nwoye claimed the Nigeria's men's Discus Throw title with a best of 51.21m, followed by Kenechukwu Ezeofor ( 48.49m) and Samuel Olatunji (46.41m)

Abike Egbeniyi won the women's 800m title in 2:07.50 ahead of Abiye David (2:09.10) and Sirika Nwoke (2:10.35).

Obinna Metu (10.31), [link id="150" tax="post_tag" text="Ogho-Oghene Egwero"] (10.32), Seye Ogunleye (10.35), Tega Odele (10.36), Monzavous Edward (10.37) and Jonathan Nmaju (10.38) have all qualified for the men's 100m semi-finals scheduled for later today.

The two-day All Nigeria championships serves as the selection trials for next month's [link id="522" tax="post_tag" text="IAAF World Championships"] in Athletics [link id="520" tax="category" text="Beijing 2015"] and the 2015 African Games in Brazzaville, Congo in September.

[icon class="icon-border" name="eye"] View Full Results

Day 1 Results - All Nigeria Athletics Championships Warri 2015